ABOUT

 

1. HISTORY:

    What was Taiwan like four hundred years ago? This is the question that experts and scholars on Taiwan studies are anxious to explore. In recent years, fueled by the Taiwan localization awareness, recognizing Taiwan becomes a national sport. Knowing the Taiwan dating back four hundred years ago has become some people's lifetime career. In one afternoon of June, 2001, thanks to a phone invitation of Ms. Xie Sujuan(謝素娟), who worked for United Evening News, Dr. Yang Lianfu(楊蓮福) convened a group of people obsessed with the culture of antique maps of Taiwan to have a historical meeting in the café of Taipei 228 Memorial Museum(台北二二八紀念館). The meeting members included Yang Lianfu(楊蓮福), Wei Dewen(魏德文), Cai Qingshan(蔡清杉), Gao Xianzhi(高賢治), Lin Wanchuan(林萬傳), Gao Chuanqi(高傳棋), and Huang Wuda(黃武達). After discussions, they agreed to follow the model of Japan's antique maps club and established Taiwan's first "Taiwan antique maps club." , which is the predecessor of our association.

 

    In the beginning of the establishment of Taiwan antique maps club, Yang Lianfu(楊蓮福) drafted out an organization outline and membership qualification as follows: 

 

(1) Have an interest in collecting antique maps of Taiwan or related existing regional maps.
(2) Have published books, periodicals, research papers or reports on Taiwan maps.
(3) Hold an office in teaching or research on native geography in schools or organizations.
(4) Be a local or regional cultural and historical heritage researcher or antique collectors.
(5) Be a researcher in technological integration or digital maps.
(6) Care about the land of Taiwan or have interest in observing it.

 

    Initially, our organization conducted member gatherings according to the following rules:

 

(1) Adopt the model of member gatherings, for which the members didn't have to pay any dues but went Dutch in each gathering.
(2) Hold regular meetings once every two months (at 6:30-9:30 on Friday evening of the second week bimonthly) to carry on information exchange of Taiwan maps studies or special reports or discussion by the members.
(3) The convener contacts members for every meeting and decides on the next meeting theme and speaker;
(4) Host a professional exhibition of Taiwan antique maps or co-host it with relevant units once every year and organize an executive team to plan exhibitions, publications and promotional work.
(5) Carry on international information exchange of antique maps clubs, organize groups to visit and appreciate antique map collections at home and abroad, and set up information websites to contact relevant organizations around the world.
(6) Carry on maps exchange among members.

 

    After executing this plan, from the first lecture and gathering in June 2001, the lecture every two months became the highlight of the club. We successively invited members and experts to conduct seminars, namely, Gao Chuanqi(高傳棋), Wei Dewen(魏德文), Li Gaoxiong(李高雄), Lin Wanchuan(林萬傳), Cai Qingshan(蔡清杉), Huang Wuda(黃武達), Wang Tongmao(王同茂), Lin HuiJuan(林惠娟), Zhong Meishu(鍾美淑), Zeng Zhengxiong(曾正雄), Chen YuanJian(陳遠建), Weng Jiayin(翁佳音), Jian YiXiong(簡義雄), Li Qianlang (李乾朗), Wang Zhiwen(王志文), Lin Tianren(林天人), Xu Zheming(許哲明), Lin Yufang(林譽方), Wen ZhuDa(聞祝達), Ye Zhenhui(葉振輝), Xhuo Kunqing(卓坤慶), Lai jingui(賴進貴), Lu Lizheng(呂理政), Chen Shunsheng(陳順勝). The lecture venues included Outdoor Life Books(戶外生活出版社), Taipei 228 Memorial Museum(台北二二八紀念館), National Taipei Teachers College(國立台北師範學院) and other places. We also went around to visit exhibitions or proceeded exchanges with units such as the National Palace Museum(國立故宮博物院), Taiwan Historica(國史館台灣文獻館), Taipei 228 Memorial Museum(台北二二八紀念館), and National Taiwan Museum(國立台灣博物館). We also planned two exhibitions with the National Museum of History(國立歷史博物館), which were "The Beautiful Island ─ An Exhibition of Old Taiwanese Maps and Life" and "Oceanic Taiwan ─ A Dialogue between the People and the Island". On September 3, 2005, Tokyo, Japan Association of antique maps visited here and we exchanged experiences with each other. Within just a few years, we had abundant achievements, which were the crystallization of all members' joint forces and dedication to the land of Taiwan.

 

    Taiwan antique maps club held a meeting once every two months to share ideas and to conduct discussions. After four years, our participants had grown up to over one hundred people. To strengthen and legalize our club affairs, we decided to set up "Association for Taiwan Antique Maps and Cultural Relics" and filed filing. On October 29, 2004, Ministry of the Interior(內政部) sent a letter of No. 0930024225 agreed on us to launch an association by law. On December 10, 2004, we held a charter members meeting on the 9th floor of No.21, Sec. 1, Zhongxiao W. Rd., Taipei City(Outdoor Life Books Conference room) and elected Yang Lianfu(楊蓮福), Lin HuiJuan(林惠娟), Zhang Chunlan(張春蘭), Chen YuanJian(陳遠建), Cai Qingshan(蔡清杉), Jian YiXiong(簡義雄), Wei Dewen(魏德文), Guo Wuxiong(郭武雄), Lin Yufang (林于昉) as the nine person preparatory Committee with Yang Lianfu(楊蓮福) to be the chairman. On December 10, 2004, we held the first preparatory meeting to review our club constitution and preparatory staff on the 9th floor of No.21, Sec. 1, Zhongxiao W. Rd., Taipei City(Outdoor Life Books Conference room). We publicly advertised on newspapers to look for members and also discussed the expenditure of the preparatory period. On December 30, 2004, the second preparatory meeting was held to review the member qualifications of 60 individual members. We decided to convene the inaugural meeting on the 1st West false patriotism Taipei (Taipei Municipal Teachers College Auditorium) on April 9, 2005, in which we would print out meeting manuals, propose annual work plans and the budget for revenues and expenditure. We would also decide on the ballot format, job division after the inaugural meeting was established, the establishment of the general affairs group and the procedure group, etc. After this, the preparatory work for the inaugural meeting was roughly completed.

Since its establishment on April 9, 2005, our association's affairs have been thriving thanks to the enthusiastic participation and promotion of all members and successive directors and supervisors. We actively promote the public awareness of antique maps and push the domestic research culture of antique maps. At the same time, our association regularly releases exclusive journals and provides an area for members to publish research thoughts of antique maps and exchange ideas. In the journals, we clearly record the details and achievements of past conferences and establish a mechanism of resource sharing by listing up relevant messages of domestic and international idea exchange of antique maps. The papers published by experts and scholars in our journals will further strengthen the research depth of studies on Taiwan antique maps.

In the future, these collectors, professors, scholars, experts, publishers, and local cultural workers in our association who are passionate about antique maps of Taiwan will continuously study and pass on the antique maps and historical heritage of Taiwan. 

 

2. PURPOSE:

    Enrich Taiwanese cultural connotation and enhance people's knowledge of Taiwanese history and culture by studying Taiwanese antique maps, historical literature, data, and related cultural relics.

 

3. MISSION:

    Our association actualizes our mission by taking on the following six tasks.
1. To collect Taiwanese antique maps and carry out further researching, publishing, and producing.
2. To sort our Taiwanese historical documentation and related relics, to hold lectures, exhibitions, and related promotion activities.
3. To expand the research of Taiwanese antique maps and the exchange of Taiwanese historical documentation, and to take on international exchange activities.
4. To participate in the research and work of Taiwanese antique maps and historical documentation, exchange ideas, and enrich the theoretical base.
5. To publish research results and reports regularly or irregularly in print media.
6. To edit Taiwanese cultural teaching materials and provide documentation in accordance with the demands of different levels of schools.

 

4. PUBLICATION:

The publications of our association are:
"The Beautiful Island ─ An Exhibition of Old Taiwanese Maps and Life"
"Oceanic Taiwan ─ A Dialogue between the People and the Island"
"Formosa Maps 1"
"Formosa Maps 2"
"Formosa Maps 3"
"Formosa Maps 4"
"Through time and space to see Taipei: Taipei city built 120 years - old map"

 

5. STAFF:
Honorary founding chairman: Yang, Lian-Fu (1st, 2nd)
Former chairman: Wei, De-Wen (3rd)
Chairman: Zhang, Zhi-Yuan (4th, current)
Secretary-General: Jian, Ting-Ting (4th, current)
Executive director: Guo, Wu-Xiong; Tsai, Qing-Shan (4th, current)
Director: Lin, Yu-Fang; Jian, Yi-Xiong; Wang, Dao-Fang; Wen, Zhu-Da; Lin, Hui-Juan; Gao, Chuan-Qi (4th, current)
Executive Supervisor: Chen, Yuan-Jian (4th, current)
Supervisor: Zhang, Chun-Lan; Jiang, Ming-Fu (4th, current)

1. 沿革:


    四百年前的台灣到底是什麼樣子?這是研究台灣的學者專家亟欲探索的一個問題。近幾年來在台灣本土化意識的推波助瀾下,認識台灣成為全民運動,追溯四百年前的台灣點滴,成為部分人士窮盡一生的志業。2001年6月的一個下午在當時任職聯合晚報謝素娟小姐的一通電話邀訪,一群醉心台灣古地圖的文化人士在楊蓮福博士的召集下,假台北二二八紀念館咖啡廳進行一場台灣古地圖的歷史聚會,計有楊蓮福、魏德文、蔡清杉、高賢治、林萬傳、高傳棋、黃武達等七人,經過一番商議,決定比照日本古地圖同好的方式,成立台灣第一個「台灣古地圖俱樂部」,也就是本會的前身。

 

    台灣古地圖俱樂成立之初,由楊蓮福草擬台灣古地圖俱樂部組織大綱,並規定成員資格,分別如下:

 

(1)個人具有蒐集台灣古地圖或相關現行區域地圖的嗜好者。
(2)曾經發表與台灣地圖研究之相關書籍期刊、論文或報告者。
(3)擔任各級學校、機關單位地理、鄉土相關教學或研究者。
(4)鄉土區域文史研究者或文物蒐藏者。
(5)各相關科技整合數位地圖研究者。
(6)對台灣土地關懷與觀察者。

 

    組織也初步以下列方式進行會員聯誼,其方式如下:

 

(1)採聯誼會性質,暫不繳納任何會費,每次參加聚會費用個別分擔;
(2)每二個月固定聚會一次(雙月第二週星期五晚6:30-9:30),進行台灣地圖研究資訊交流,或由會員進行專題報告或討論;
(3)每一次聚會由召集人連絡,並決定下一次聚會報告主題與報告人;
(4)每一年舉辦一次台灣古地圖專業展覽或與相關單位協辦,組成執行小組進行策劃展覽、出版及推廣宣傳工作;
(5)進行國際古地圖俱樂部資訊交流及組團參觀海內外古地圖收藏品的賞析,設立資訊網站與世界各國相關組織聯繫;
(6)地圖會員交換會。

 

    經過此一規劃,從2001年6月開始第一次演講及聯誼,每二個月的演講成為本俱樂部的重頭戲,陸續邀請會員、專家來進行專題講座,計有高傳棋、魏德文、李高雄、林萬傳、蔡清杉、黃武達、王同茂、林惠娟、鍾美淑、曾正雄、陳遠建、翁佳音、簡義雄、李乾朗、王志文、林天人、許哲明、林譽方、聞祝達、葉振輝、卓坤慶、賴進貴、呂理政、陳順勝等人演講,場地分別在戶外生活出版社、台北二二八紀念館、台北市立師範學院等地,並遠赴各地參觀展覽、進行交流,如國立故宮博物院、國史館台灣文獻館、中正理工大學、台北二二八紀念館、國立台灣歷史博物館等地,也與國立歷史博物館策劃兩次大展,分別是「美麗之島─台灣古地圖與生活風貌展」及「海洋台灣─人民與島嶼的對話」古地圖文物展。在2005年9月3日,日本東京古地圖協會來訪,與其進行交流。短短幾年,成果豐碩,都是全體夥伴戮力合作的結晶,共同為台灣這塊土地奉獻耕耘的成果。

 

    台灣古地圖俱樂部每兩個月舉辦一次的聚會分享心得與討論,時間經過了四年,參與人數也達百人之多。為讓會務健全與法制化,決定成立「台灣古地圖史料文物協會」,並提出申請立案。內政部在2004年10月29日發函台內社字第0930062451號同意依法發起籌組。2004年12月10日,假台北市忠孝西路1段21號9樓(戶外生活出版社公司會議室)召開發起人會議,推選楊蓮福、林惠娟、張春蘭、陳遠建、蔡清杉、簡義雄、魏德文、郭武雄、林于昉等九人為籌備委員。並共推楊蓮福擔任主任委員。2004年12月10日,假台北市忠孝西路1段21號9樓(戶外生活出版社公司會議室)召開第一次籌備會議,審查本會章程及籌備期間工作人員,並公開登報徵求會員啟事,也討論籌備期間之經費支出。2004年12月30日舉辦第二次籌備會議,會中審查會員資格,共計個人會員60名,同時決定2005年4月9日,假台北市愛國西路1號(台北市立師範學院禮堂),舉行成立大會,印製大會手冊,提出年度工作計畫,及收支預算表案,並決定選票格式,及大會成立時的工作分工,設立總務組、議事組等組別,至此籌備工作大致完成。

    台灣古地圖史料文物協會自2005年4月9日成立以來,承蒙歷任理監事、全體會員熱心的參與和推動,協會會務蒸蒸日上,積極推廣社會大眾對於古地圖的認識,帶動國內古地圖的研究風氣,同時,協會定期發行專屬會刊,提供一塊讓會員發表古地圖研究心得和交流切磋的園地,刊中除明確記載過去會務推動的細節和成果外,更會列舉國內外古地圖交流分享的相關訊息,建立資源共享的機制,而刊中專家學者的論文發表,將更進一步強化台灣古地圖的研究深度。

未來,協會下這一群熱愛臺灣古地圖的收藏家、教授、學者專家、出版者、地方文史工作者,將會持續地研究台灣古地圖及史料文物,並永遠地傳承下去。

 

2. 宗旨:


    研究臺灣地區古地圖、歷史文獻、資料及相關文物,增進臺灣文化內涵,並促進會員及民眾對臺灣歷史文化的認識。

 

3. 任務:


本會以六大任務作為協會宗旨的開展:

一、蒐集臺灣古地圖,並進一步研究、出版、製作。
二、整理臺灣歷史文獻、資料及相關文物,舉辦演講、展覽及相關活動推動。
三、擴大臺灣古地圖研究與臺灣歷史文獻資料交流,進行國際性交流活動。
四、參與臺灣古地圖及歷史文獻工作研究,交換心得,充實理論基礎。
五、定期或不定期發表研究心得及報告,刊登在報章雜誌及出版刊物。
六、配合各級學校,提供文獻資料,編輯臺灣文化教材。

 

4. 協會出版品:


「美麗之島─台灣古地圖與生活風貌展」
「海洋台灣─人民與島嶼的對話」
「地圖1」
「地圖2」
「地圖3」
「地景圖像4」
「穿越時空看臺北:臺北建城120週年-舊地圖」

 

5. 協會成員:


創會榮譽理事長 楊蓮福 (第一、二屆理事長)
前理事長 魏德文 (第三屆理事長)
理事長 張志遠 (第四屆理事長,本屆現任, 以下同)
秘書長 蹇婷婷
常務理事 郭武雄 蔡清杉
理事 林于昉 簡義雄 王道方 聞祝達 林惠娟 高傳棋
常務監事 陳遠建
監事 張春蘭 姜明甫